protege 5 funny idle(help)

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

protege 5 funny idle(help)

i am new to mazdas and i just purchased a 2003 protege 5 for a decent price..i have changed the iacv/map sensor/coils,,the rmp's go up and down and sometimes the car shuts off..the rpms drop down verry low like it wants to shut off at all times but stays on..when i press the gas while takin off,it drives like if i am barely pressin down on the accelerator and then it runs fine from there,,runs perfect on the highway so its basically on take off and when parked/stopped..what can my problem be??

problem #2 . car sometimes wont start on park but it does on neutral all the time..can this be a sensor or something else and where would the sensor be located if its the sensor?

I figured u would find ur way over here lol I gotta actually see the car man, cuz you've replaced everything already.... and sorry but theres not a whole lot of 3rd gen protege guys here, i was one of the few when I had my P5....

94 Pro LX- 3-hole. Familia seats, Infini Corners, Familia Grille, Familia Rear Garnish w/Rear fogs EDM Glass headlights,
    MSP Mazdaspeed Muffler,Mazdaspeed front strut bar,'00 Pro ES wheels, Neuspeed Springs,GR2s, MX3 wheel, MX3 Tall armrest

Comment

so far i have changed the iacv/map and i cleaned the maf sensor with maf cleaner..i guess i will try to get another maf and see what happens..any suggestions guys?

Comment

EGR VALVE!!!!!!! common problem.

Comment

Originally posted by viper_707 View Post

seconded!!! verry common problem! take it off and clean it

Comment

or get a block off plate if you dont have to worry about emissions.

'88 323 sedan, K-swapped..

'03.5 Mazdaspeed Protege - miss it so much..

'01 Dodge Ram 3500 Cummins - 323 hauler

Comment

dam its funny cuz i was on google and found another thread about the dam egr valve problem..i will take it out and clean it cuz it might be clogged or should i replace it??anything else it could be?

Comment