Several Questions Regarding Turbos

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Several Questions Regarding Turbos

1. Would a cold air intake work with a turbocharger? 2. If so, then what cold air intake do you recommend? 3. How do I know what size turbocharger would work for my mazda protege 2000 lx 1.6 liter? I am wanting to get a godspeed one. Does a turbocharger need to be dynoed before using it? ok that is all of my questions for now. thanks in advance. sorry, but i am new to all of this xD
    Mazda Protege 2000 LX

dont like double posting, but this post has been here for a week and still no replies...
    Mazda Protege 2000 LX

Comment

Yes, a CAI would work with a turbo. In fact, a turbo needs a CAI even more so than a normally aspirated engine. Why? To ensure maximum charge air density. For more information, go to:

I don't recommend any specific CAI because structural limitations generally determine the layout used, particularly in the case of FI.

I don't know what size turbo you'd need, off hand, for a 1.6 L engine and I know nothing about Godspeed turbos. For information on turbo sizing and anything else you need to know:
      Maximum Boost: Designing, Testing and Installing Tubocharger Systems by Corky Bell; Chapter 3: Selecting the Turbocharger, pages 23-37. Available from Amazon.

Happy Motoring!
      02 DX Millenium Red - The Penultimate Driving Machine
      MP3 Strut Tower Bar kit; Cusco Front Lower Arm Tie Bar
      MSP Springs, Struts, Stabilizer Bars, Trailing Links, #3 Engine Mount
      Kartboy Stabilizer Bar Bushings; Nyloil Shifter Bushings; Red Line MT-90 Gear Oil
      MP3 Shifter, Knob and Aluminum Pedal Set
      Suvlights HD Wiring Harness; Osram Night Breaker H4 Bulbs; Exide Edge AGM Battery
      Summer: 5Zigen FN01R-C 16 x 7" Wheels; Yoko S.drive 205/45-16s
      Winter: Enkei OR52 16 x 7" Wheels; Falken Ziex ZE-912 205/45-16s
      Modified OEM Air Intake; Racing Beat Exhaust System; Techna-Fit SS Clutch Line