Checking out a Mazda6 soon, any tips?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Checking out a Mazda6 soon, any tips?

Hey guys, I'm considering getting a first generation Mazda6 as a new daily while the Protege is getting repaired/worked on. Not sure what year exactly or the trim level as I just stopped by it the other day and talked to my girlfriend about getting it. Anyway, the only things written on the windshield was the price, around $4,000, "5-speed" and "needs motor work".

Are there any commonly known problems with these cars? This is a pretty general question at the moment, but I'm hoping to get down there today and check it out, and take it for a test drive if possible.

Also, this is my first time buying a car, so a few tips in this sense would be helpful. How long of a test drive should I take, assuming I can? Where should I start negotiating the price at? Anything I'm forgetting?

ive seen a few of these spin bearings. so its possible the needs engine work is need an engine. cats are known to fail and cause engine damage. they are a pain to change on these due to the tight engine bay.
    turn the wheel all the way to the left and to the right. some will have a clunking noise when doing that. mazdas repair for that is to pull out the column and stuff it full of grease. telescoping feature. when dry the column
    moves up and down and makes that noise. oil leaks from front crank seal, valve covers and timing cover are common. just off the top of my head. if i remember more i will let you know.